Hot to Cold Experiment

Today, we did an experiment to see how long it took for water to go from boiling to freezing. First we filled a bowl up with water, then we boiled it in a pan and then put it in the freezer.

iced water

We used a temperature probe to measure how cold or hot the water was.  I made a graph showing the temperature and time. We checked it and plotted it every 10 minutes. It took 140 minutes to freeze which is 2 hours and 20 minutes.

I really did have lot’s of fun working on an experiment.

Temperature graph

4 thoughts on “Hot to Cold Experiment

  1. Thanks! Austin. I’ve always wondered how long it would take.
    I thought, it would be longer. I had guessed about five hours.
    Wished I’d have done your clever experiment. Keep up the good work.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes I would have expected it to take longer too. You certainly think up some good experiments Austin. I love to watch how the water in the bird bath freezes from the edges inwards. Poor birds I have to go out first thing on frosty mornings to fill another bowl with water so they can drink.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

